When Life Knocks You Down

by belovan

It is times like these I feel myself getting older.  The joints hurt etc.  But when life brings challenges you just have to find tools to deal with them.  I often hear the words, “I can’t” before the person has every tried.  I hear, “I don’t like that.” when they have never really tried it.  It amazes me how fast people will give up on something just because they don’t want to take the time to find a solution or they “think” they won’t like it.  Or maybe someone put the idea in to their heads.  Whatever the reason they miss out on a lot of life.  How do I know?  Because I use to be one of those people.  I’m not proud of that fact but I’m proof a person can change.  

Now when I have challenges like now, I look for solutions.  So I can’t walk very far…okay, I got a wheelchair!  So I have arthritis, I learned about it.  I avoid things that aggravate it and make sure I move everyday so I don’t freeze up.  There are even foods and things I can use to help.  Don’t give up…look for what you can do.  Look for answers.  Educate yourself.  In today’s age there is no excuse.  We have the internet!  This resource has brought even more then a library of information to our finger tips.  We just have to use it.  I know I’ve learned more from the internet and cable TV then I ever did at school.  But I love to learn.  In my spare time I love to learn new things.

I remember when I was a child I hated history.  Now I love it and watch many show on different subjects in history.  When I was a child I didn’t like science.  Now the science channel is one of my favorite channels.  Things change.  My attitude changed.  I’ve learned the value of things I once thought unimportant.  Whenever, I read something that upsets me now I investigate.  Most of the time it is a lie or a half truth.  It amazes me that our news is no longer objective and we need to go looking for the truth.  There are so many people out there that believe things that just aren’t true because they don’t want to take the time to investigate.  It really doesn’t take that long to check the fact checking sites.  Actually, now a days it is better to go there BEFORE you listen to the news sites or stations.  And don’t go to just one fact checking site.  Go to a few because they can sometimes miss things and you want a balance opinion.  It is a matter of being informed with REAL facts so you can make informed decisions and votes.  I love the internet because I’m not dependent on these bias news stations and sites.  I can do my own investigation.  

Basically, I’ve learned to use the tools available to solve the problems of your life.  My life fell apart but before it did I was given a good foundation to build on and I’m grateful for that.  I’m growing a lot recently.  That is a good thing.  Life is growth.  Life is change.  Life is exciting and full of surprises.  I’m learning to embrace them. 

I write here because it helps cement what I’m learning.  Sometimes I backslide and this helps me stay focused.  If it helps someone else…great!  I guess in life all we can do is our best at the time…then we need to forgive mistakes and move on…that’s what I’m doing.

